fountainOur Mission:
The Women’s Institute of Houston (WIH) provides a community for women and men to explore diverse academic subjects by offering classes and lectures taught by recognized leaders in their fields.

Our Vision:
WIH strives to cultivate informed, critical, and engaged citizens by connecting people who love to learn with the highest quality opportunities for continuing education and enrichment.

Our programs consist of weekly classes as well as Sunday lectures. We also offer a Lecture Luncheon Series that meets at River Oaks Country Club, which brings to Houston authorities from around the nation to speak about an aspect of their field of expertise in a single presentation.

WIH was founded in 1951 by Rebecca and Dean Richardson and chartered as a nonprofit, 501(c) 3, in 1956.

Board of Directors
Marilyn G. Lummis, Chair Emerita
Dorothy W. Smith, Chair Emerita
Cynthia J. Brown, Chairman
Susan Reeves, President
Jane Smith, Vice President
Bette Brinson, Treasurer
Joan Scales, Secretary
Donna Glass, Lecture Luncheon Chair


Jana Whitby, Executive Director
Shea Hill, Executive Assistant


E-mail wih@wih.org
The Women’s Institute
2202 Avalon Place
Houston, Texas 77019